History of SLS
St. Louis School opened its doors in the fall of 1957 under the leadership of the Dominican sisters. Monsignor Paul Clunan, the pastor at that time, welcomed three hundred and twelve students in grades one through eight. Our facility sits on twenty two acres at the corner of White Station and Shady Grove Road.
St. Louis, through a rich tradition of Catholic education and academic excellence, has grown to approximately five hundred students in grades pre-K through eight. The school is currently served by our pastor, Monsignor John McArthur and two associate pastors along with our principal, Mrs. Teddi Niedzwiedz.
St. Louis opened a three and four year old pre-school in 2010. Our school now serves students in three year old pre-school through eighth grade. A supplemental program to enhance the traditional classroom instruction is provided through Learning Lab and our SOARing Enrichment program. We also offer advanced classes for our junior high students.
Our facilities include twenty-two classrooms, a computer lab, library media center, learning lab, foreign language room, music room, art room, guidance office, cafeteria and administrative offices. We also boast a football field, two gymnasiums, two soccer fields, three baseball/softball fields and two playgrounds.
We are currently expanding to add a junior high wing that will add eight new classrooms, science lab, music studio, and distance learning center.
Throughout our over fifty years of educating students, our St. Louis Parish and School continue to serve the community through faith filled actions, service to others, and the education of outstanding individuals.
St. Louis School is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS CASI) and certified by the State Board of Education. St. Louis is a member of the National Catholic Education Association.